Facebook Twitter Google+ YouTube Pinterest RSS

2017 Mount Vernon Sales Tax Breakdown


Effective April 1, 2017 sales and use tax within the city limits of Mount Vernon (and in most parts of Skagit County) has increased 2/10th of one percent from 8.5% to 8.7%.  This change is due to the development of the TBD (Transportation Benefit District) which was created pursuant to Ordinance 3679 in 2016.  The TBD imposes a .2% sales and use tax that is to be used for transportation related projects as outlined in the City’s Capital Improvement Plan.

Sales and use tax paid in the City of Mount Vernon is distributed as follows:

6.50% State

0.85% City of Mount Vernon

0.40% PTBA (Skagit Transit)

0.30% Public Safety (Jail) – Effective 1/1/2014

0.20% MV TBD (Transportation projects) – Effective 4/1/2017

0.15% Skagit County

0.10% Criminal Justice (distributed to Cities and County based on population)

0.10% Skagit 911

0.10% Skagit County Mental Health

8.70% Total