Skip to content

Two Skagit Valley College faculty members receive the Dr. Ernest Tutt Teacher of the Year Award

Joy Curtis, Nursing instructor

Dr. Roxi Smith, Chemistry instructor

Each year, students at Skagit Valley College's Mount Vernon Campus select the Teacher of the Year. The Dr. Ernest Tutt Teacher of the Year Award was bestowed this year to two outstanding faculty members: Dr. Roxi Smith, Chemistry instructor, and Joy Curtis, Nursing instructor. Roxi and Joy were recognized for their passion for the subject they teach and their dedication to student success. The announcement of the award was made at SVC’s Virtual Student Honors Reception that was held on June 17th.

About the award: To honor the legacy and memory of the late Dr. Ernest Tutt, SVC's beloved Communication Studies professor who passed away in 2018, the Associated Students of Skagit Valley College elected to rename the award in 2019. It is now known as the Dr. Ernest Tutt Teacher of the Year Award.

#  #  #

Equity in Access, Achievement, and Community

Scroll To Top